Home Discussion Forum What is "Mula Bandha" and "Chakra" mean in yoga?

What is "Mula Bandha" and "Chakra" mean in yoga?


  1. ‘Mula bandha’ is to contract the muscles in your pelvis floor. You’re supposed to do this constantly during yoga practice. Chakras are seats of energy in your body. There are supposed to be seven of them according to certain philosophies. ‘Chakra’ means circle.

  2. There are over 60 Chakras in the body, 7 of them are considered the major chakras. They are energy centers, often denoted as a spiraling energy at different points in the body.
    You can find out a lot if you also google those terms. 🙂

  3. “Mula bandha” and “chakra” are Sanskrit terms. It can be difficult to translate Sanskrit into English literally, but the most commonly held understanding amongst western yoga practitioners of the meaning of these terms is as follows:
    mula = root
    bandha = lock or bond
    thus: mula bandha = root lock or root bond
    Physically mula bandha refers to a contraction (lifting) of the muscles of the pelvic floor. In traditional yoga, however, the bandhas are much more than physical postures. Manipulation of the physical body is simply a gateway to higher levels of consciousness, achieved through controlling the flow of prana (energy) through the body. [1][2]
    chakra = circle, wheel or disk
    Yogic philosophy holds that the chakras are centres of energy within the body. There are seven major chakras which are aligned along the spine: [3][4]
    1. The Muladhara or Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine.
    2. The Swadhistana or Sacral Chakra is located in the region of the abdomen, lower back and reproductive organs.
    3. The Manipura or Power Chakra is located at the solar plexus.
    4. The Anahata or Heart Chakra is located in the centre of the chest.
    5. The Vishuddha or Throat Chakra is located in the throat.
    6. The Ajna or Third Eye/Brow Chakra is located in the centre of the forehead.
    7. The Sahasrara or Crown Chakra is located at the crown of the head.
    Each chakra is associated with particular bodily functions and life issues. Some yoga practitioners believe that these chakras or energy centres can become “blocked” by imbalances and tensions in our lives and that practicing asanas (poses) which focus on the chakras will help to release the blocks, thereby promoting better health and clearing the path to higher consciousness. [5]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here