What book do you recommend to learn to read Tarot?

- Advertisement -

I’ve got the Universal Waite cards, and the book by Arthur Waite, but the book’s not very helpful. Someone recommended one by Mary Greere. Any other book’s you highly recommend for novice tarot readers?

- Advertisement -
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
5 Comments
Most Voted
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Keltasia

Most tarot decks have a book that you can purchase with them.
http://www.aeclectic.net/tarot/cards

Maria M

no joke but tarot for dummy’s is great. you can really understand it. some books out there are so technical it con confuse you.

scarab

The Universal Waite deck is a great deck despite the book that goes with it. The deck is set up with traditional symbols and that makes it a lot easier to read. Since that deck is the foundation for the rest of the decks there is a really good book on the Thoth tarot that talks about the images of the Waite deck also. It give a really good background on what all of the cards mean and good ways to get your feet wet with the decks. It explains why the cards are what they are and how their placement in the universe determines whether or not they are happy there. Knowing “why” was always a big deal to me, otherwise it just seemed random and that made them hard to remember.
I have several of Greer’s books and really love them. I recommend those to anyone who is starting out. Tarot for yourself and 21 Ways to read a Tarot Card are must haves.

zigadig

I found “Tarot-Plain and Simple” by Anthony Louis very helpful. It uses the illustrations of the Robin Wood deck which takes its symbology from Rider-Waite, so the images are the same. For each card it gives keywords, situational interpretation, and reference to people, both in upright and reversed. It also touches on some basic numerology that can enhance a reading. Very easy to use!

Sadhara Satguru

Hello
You can join our forum if you wish to gain insight into the tarot, I teach & others there have studied for many decades also.
Two of the best books are 78 Degrees of Wisdom I think by Sandra Pollock, they come in parts 1 & 2. An excellent study.
Pam

Related

How is it ok for you to blieve that people from another religion will burn for eternity /how is it ok for God?

I just can't understand how it is even ok for God the merciful to be ok with that. I mean imagine you're some ones...

Why does a Shaman use a dried pine needle in a medicine bag?

In the medicine bag there is sage, tabacco, stones and crystal.

Do you suffer from religiosity/omenosis?

Omenosis (From Latin omen (“‘foreboding, omen’”) and (pathology) "osis" used to form the names of any functional disorder of various parts of the body and...

What can a Wiccan do in a paranormal investigation (ghost hunting) team?

I'm an aspiring writer creating a story in the vein of Ghostbusters, Ghost Hunters, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I know that paranormal investigation...

How to awaken the seven chakras?

I want to get details on how to do this for each chakra. A website would be sufficient, no books, and please make it...

is chi energy in martial arts real?

im just so curious is this chi or ki energy real? because i need 2 know im so curious plees answer..... if it is...
5
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x