What are the levels of reincarnation in Hinduism?

- Advertisement -

I know they can be changed through Karma.. But what are they?
The highest is human, right? >.<

- Advertisement -
Notify of
Most Voted
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
I Love To Be Hated

Animals continue to be reincarnated untill their spirit has gone through all life forms and then they are blessed with the human form….Humans are only reincarnated if they fail to fulfill the goal of life which is moksha (nirvana)….If they are reincarnated they are usually reincarnated as human and NOT animals……


According to Buddhism(which comes from Hinduism), there are 6 realms into which one can reincarnate. The six realms are as follows: rebirth as a Deva, an Asura, a human being, an animal, a hungry ghost, or a being in Naraka (hell).
So, 2 kinds of a god, human, animal, and 2 kinds of a ghost. The Buddha said that human is the best because only he has a chance of reaching Nirvana.


Caitanya Caritamrta. Madhya Lila 19.138
eita brahmanda bhari’ ananta jiva-gana
caurasi-laksa yonite karaye bhramana
ei-ta–in this way; brahmanda–the whole universe; bhari’–filling; ananta–unlimited; jiva-gana–living entities; caurasi-laksa–8,400,000; yonite–in species of life; karaye–do; bhramana–wandering.
“In this universe there are limitless living entities in 8,400,000 species, and all are wandering within this universe.
This is a challenge to so-called scientists and philosophers who presume that there are living entities on this planet only. So-called scientists are going to the moon, and they say that there is no life there. This does not tally with Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu’s version. He says that everywhere within the universe there are unlimited numbers of living entities in 8,400,000 different forms. In Bhagavad-gita (2.24) we find that the living entities are sarva-gatah, which means that they can go anywhere. This indicates that there are living entities everywhere. They exist on land, in water, in air, in fire and in ether. Thus there are living entities in all types of material elements. Since the entire material universe is composed of five elements–earth, water, fire, air and ether–why should there be living entities on one planet and not others? Such a foolish version can never be accepted by Vedic students. From the Vedic literatures we understand that there are living entities on each and every planet, regardless of whether the planet is composed of earth, water, fire or ether. These living entities may not have the same forms that are found on this planet earth, but they have different forms composed of different elements. Even on this earth we can see that the forms of land animals are different from the forms of aquatics. According to the circumstance, living conditions differ, but undoubtedly there are living entities everywhere. Why should we deny the existence of living entities on this or that planet? Those who have claimed to have gone to the moon have not gone there, or else their imperfect vision cannot actually perceive the particular type of living entities there.
Living entities are described as ananta, or unlimited; nonetheless, they are said to belong to 8,400,000 species. As stated in the Visnu Purana:
jalaja nava-laksani
sthavara laksa-vimsati
krmayo rudra-sankhyakah
paksinam dasa-laksanam
trimsal-laksani pasavah
catur-laksani manusah
“There are 900,000 species living in the water. There are also 2,000,000 non-moving living entities (sthavara) such as trees and plants. There are also 1,100,000 species of insects and reptiles, and there are 1,000,000 species of birds. As far as quadrupeds are concerned there are 3,000,000 varieties, and there are 400,000 human species.” Some of these species may exist on one planet and not on another, but in any case within all the planets of the universe–and even in the sun–there are living entities. This is the verdict of Vedic literatures. As Bhagavad-gita (2.20) confirms:
na jayate mriyate va kadacin
nayam bhutva bhavita va na bhuyah
ajo nityah sasvato ‘yam purano
na hanyate hanyamane sarire
“For the soul there is never birth nor death. Nor, having once been, does he ever cease to be. He is unborn, eternal, ever-existing, undying and primeval. He is not slain when the body is slain.”
Since the living entities are never annihilated, they simply transmigrate from one life form to another. Thus there is an evolution of forms according to the degree of developed consciousness. One experiences different degrees of consciousness in different forms. A dog’s consciousness is different from a man’s. Even within a species we find that a father’s consciousness is different from his son’s and that a child’s consciousness is different from a youth’s. Just as we find different forms, we find different states of consciousness. When we see different states of consciousness, we may take it for granted that the bodies are different. In other words, different types of bodies depend on different states of consciousness. This is also confirmed in Bhagavad-gita (8.6): yam yam vapi smaran bhavam. One’s consciousness at the time of death determines a type of body of the living entity. This is the process of transmigration of the soul. A variety of bodies is already there; we change from one body to another in terms of our consciousness.


Are the 7 Hermetic Principles the basis for science and religion?

The 7 Hermetic Principles, which are stated within the Cabala, show certain aspects in which both science and religion relate to. However, Hermeticism, as...

What do you think about hypnosis?

I read this book: "Many Lives, Many masters" by Weiss. He is a phychiatrist whose used hypnosis to help heal his patient of phobia's and...

Rate my Pokemon Diamond team!?

Also tell me what you think is wrong, All lv 100. I have nearly all legendnery Pokemon. tyranitar hyper beam taunt substitute earthquake dragonite hyper beam dragon dance dragon rush aqua tail mewtwo recover earthquake aura sphere psychic infernape or...
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x