Discussion Forum

What are the Buddhist states of consciousness?

I read something once that talked about Buddhist states of consciousness, ranging from being fully awake through sleep and meditation, with one of the highest states of awareness being able to see into the spirit world, so to speak. This was a long time ago, and I can’t seem to find any information on this online. Anyone know what I’m talking about, and could I get the names, or a link to the names of the states of consciousness? Thanks!


  • I recently came accross the Audio files of discouses on the famous Diamond sutras of Bhagwan Buddh as explained by Osho. I think you will find the answer of your question,in this discousres in details. Please listen to them it is what you are looking for.
    All the eleven discouses are free to download and listen at the following site.
    Be Joyful.

    Strive to be Happy.

  • I’ll defer to the actual Buddhists but I was under the impression there were five levels of consciousness.
    1 – Fully asleep
    2 – Dreaming
    3 – “Waking Sleep” – normal consciousness
    4 – Heightened consciousness – meditation
    5 Cosmic Consciousness – unity with the Universe.

    I got this from Robert S. DeRopp (who here remembers him!?) and I thought it was Buddhist in origin.

  • Your best bet is to investigate ZEN Buddhism. They focus the most on meditation. There are some excellant books by an author that simply goes by the name “Osho.” Also check out “Zazen” on the web.

Leave a Reply to kalpana X