Discussion Forum

Magic the Gathering: When I play an enchantment Aura does it go on the stack before it resolves?

For instance i play Pacifism (white deck) which says tha comes in to play attached to a creature. Does pacifism go on the stack and my opponent can play a counter spell like cancel(blue deck) and as a result pacifism goes in my graveyard before it resolves?

7 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
jasonsluck13MarcotteeleatskiNoOB123Soshi Uso Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
jasonsluck13
Guest
jasonsluck13

yes.

Marcotte
Guest
Marcotte

Of course. Here is how spells, the stack, and tons of other stuff works. Every non-land card you play is a spell. They are put on the stack. At this point, it isn’t in play yet, but it has been played. When it is on the stack, anything with instant timing can respond to it. One example is Cancel, an instant card that, for 1UU, counters target spell. (U represents Blue). There used to be a card called Counterspell. It was very powerful; for UU it countered target spell. Cancel was Wizard of the Coast’s way of balancing out Counterspell.… Read more »

eleatski
Guest
eleatski

yes!

NoOB123
Guest
NoOB123

Yes, each and every card you play is a spell. All spells and abilities use the stack, and can therefore be counterspelled. If you play the Pacifism, your opponent can cancel it, and it would go to the graveyard before it resolves. Think of it this way: You are attempting to stab me with a sword. I can shoot you in response, in which case you would die, and the sword will follow you to the grave because it is useless without a weilder. However, note that counterspells (with the exception of Voidslime, Stifle, and Trickbind) can’t be used to… Read more »

Soshi Uso
Guest
Soshi Uso

Yes it does. When you play it, you target the creature you want it to go onto. It then sits on the stack, giving your opponent (and occasionally an ally) the chance to react. If the aura is countered, it goes straight to the graveyard without attaching to the targeted creature.

Additionally, if something happens and the creature becomes an illegal target (destroyed, removed from play, given shroud, etc) the aura acts as if it were countered.

merigold00
Guest
merigold00

It is an spell until it resolves, then it becomes an aura on a creature, so yes it can be countered.

Cynthia
Guest
Cynthia

Everything that isn’t a land is a spell when you play it. Then it goes on the stack, where it can be targeted by counters and others spells or not.