Home Discussion Forum Can someone help me understand yoga in Hinduism?

Can someone help me understand yoga in Hinduism?

In Hinduism, why are there different types of yoga? For example jhana, karma, bhakti, raja, hatha and kundalini? Does each have a different goal?


  1. each yoga has a different method but for the same end result.
    all of them are trying to help the yogi achieve moksa or samadhi. liberation. all yogas seek to achieve union of the body, mind, and Godhead.
    bhakti yoga is liberation through devotion and love.
    karma yoga is liberation through positive actions.
    hatha yoga is liberation through increasing awareness of the body and mind through postures
    kundalini yoga is liberation through merging the primordial energies of shiva and shakti

  2. for the same reason we have different religions and different models of cars and different schools and colleges and different news papers

  3. Jhana – is to allow your focus, eyes open to become connected with an object.
    Karma yoga – is to enter a state of mind in which you concentrate on a cause and effect, and meditate on what that means, normally to better understand what to do to become less selfish if you are ever to repeat the action in the future. It resembles self-forgiveness of the Christians, but reminds you that you are responsible for your actions, and your problem solving.
    Bhakti – Means devotion, and more of a life practice then a state of mind one enters in meditation, but likewise this can be done, by thinking of what things the mind should be devoted to.
    Raja – is the meditation on how things are connected, sort like a Zen but more focused on the liberation from how things are then the harmony with how things are.
    Hatha – A purification of the body through exercise, and physical stretches made in mind-states of clarity, and peace.
    Kundalini – Sets out to awake inner knowledge, which coiled at the base of the spine, this of course a metaphor, but the practice sets out to rear that serpent alive, through contemplation of its awakening.

  4. The goal of all Hindu based yoga systems is liberation. Each system that you have listed approaches it differently. But moksha (liberation) is considered one of the 4 aims of life in Hinduism.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here